Week 1: What the…I don’t even…I accidentally the whole thing.

Saturday afternoon, and in addition to our daily chores (laundry, vacuuming, cleaning the bathrooms, ugh) and going to the store, Tay and I planned to bake a dessert for fun and for the poker game we were hosting that night.  I had come across this recipe while searching the interwebs and was intrigued by the name “sopapilla pumpkin cheesecake bars”.  I have been baking a lot with pumpkin over the last several months and had all the ingredients…besides who doesn’t love pumpkin cheesecake? 

The recipe comes from Willow Bird Baking, at the following website: http://willowbirdbaking.com/2011/10/02/easy-sopapilla-pumpkin-cheesecake-bars/

The recipe was very easy to execute, and Tay and I fully experienced the joy that is using a stand mixer when we combined the sugar and cream cheese.  Even getting the crescent roll dough into the pan was painless.  The entire dish was put together in a very short time with almost no mess, and that is a major accomplishment for us!  After cooking for the indicated amount of time, I let them cool, and then chilled in the refrigerator for three hours before serving them.  I didn’t do the nuts and honey thing because it would have been too complicated with a poker game going on…so I cut them into small pieces and served them cold.

These were a big hit with my guests, who ate almost half the pan over the course of the night. In close, these were easy and tasty, and the mixer is a must have!  My only comment is a personal one, living in New Mexico I feel a little chagrined that I made a recipe that claims to have sopapillas in them but doesn’t…I think I may have to learn to make real sopapillas…The title for this blog comes from the text I received from my guy after sending him the following picture..

p.s. In case you were wondering, I won poker!  It was a small game, I took out the first player, my guy took out the next two, and it came down to he and I…and I won :)

p.p.s. These bars go great with rum…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

